Document Type

News Article

Publication Date



The Board of Regents approved Chancellor Steve Wrigley’s recommendation for two consolidations within the University System of Georgia: Georgia Southern University and Armstrong State University, and Abraham Baldwin Agricultural College (ABAC) and Bainbridge State College. The two new institutions, respectively, will be named Georgia Southern University, to be led by President Jaimie Hebert, and Abraham Baldwin Agricultural College, to be led by President David Bridges.


University System of Georgia, Georgia Southern, Consolidation Implementation Committee, Armstrong State, Board of Regents, Abraham Baldwin Agricultural College, Bainbridge State College

Subject Headings

University and Colleges--Merger; Georgia Southern University; Armstrong State University; Abraham Baldwin Agricultural College; Bainbridge State College

Publication Title

University System of Georgia News Release