Georgia Southern University

Georgia Southern Commons

Art Department News (2010-2023)

Betty Foy Sanders Department of Art News Publications

4-7-2019

BFS News Online

Georgia Southern University

Follow this and additional works at: https://digitalcommons.georgiasouthern.edu/art-news-online

Recommended Citation

Georgia Southern University, "BFS News Online" (2019). *Art Department News (2010-2023)*. 273. https://digitalcommons.georgiasouthern.edu/art-news-online/273

This newsletter is brought to you for free and open access by the Betty Foy Sanders Department of Art News Publications at Georgia Southern Commons. It has been accepted for inclusion in Art Department News (2010-2023) by an authorized administrator of Georgia Southern Commons. For more information, please contact digitalcommons@georgiasouthern.edu.

Georgia Southern's Betty Foy Sanders Department of Art announces 'Form & Content 2019' winners

April 7, 2019

STATESBORO, Ga.—The Betty Foy Sanders Department of Art (BFSDoArt) at Georgia Southern University recently presented its annual Form and Content student exhibition April 5 to 12 at the Center for Art & Theatre on the Statesboro Campus.

Form & Content features student work from Art Foundations classes that include Drawing I, Drawing II, 2D Art and Design Foundations, 3D Art and Design Foundations, and Digital Foundations. The exhibition was juried by Ben Tollefson is a nationally-exhibited artist and an assistant curator at the SCAD Museum of Art. Tollefson has been working with both 2D and 3D art, his practice is highly realistically rendered, chromatically complex and tightly composed, yet evocative and surreal in appearance.

Winners were announced at the closing reception on April 5. Haley Wilson was awarded first place. Peyton Butts was awarded second place. Genevieve Townsend was awarded third place.

Students work accepted in the Form & Content exhibition are Jacoby Aultman, Jalen Austin, Patrick Brownlee, Yaschira Camacho, Carlos Carvajal, Justin Chinnery, MacKenzie Cintron, Katsi Cruz Delgado, Cathy Estes, Brittany Evans, Anna Forbes, Anna Grace Raley, Sabrina Hill, Makenzy Lane, Giselle Martinez, Dubby Ibuoka, Taylor Mcmahan, Matthew McRae, Pardiss Moazzam, Katherine Naude, Laiken Owens, Anna Peters, Abigail

Award: First Place – Haley Wilson, "Eggs," Graphite, vine charcoal, Drawing II

Rodriguez-Colón, Elias Smalls, Cheyenne Smith, Megan Tanner, Julianna Tilman, Nina Trammell, Makinzie Wall, Elizabeth Wilson, Devon Witkowski, and Whitney Youngblood Josey.

Posted in Gallery Programming, Noteworthy, Student Success



Award: Second Place – Peyton Butts, "Colors of Reality," Colored Pencil, Drawing II



Award: Third Place – Genevieve Townsend, "Master Study: Van Gogh," Micron Pen, Drawing II

Betty Foy Sanders Department of Art announces 'Juried 2019' winners

April 7, 2019

STATESBORO, Ga.—The Betty Foy Sanders Department of Art (BFSDoArt) at Georgia Southern University recently presented its annual undergraduate juried exhibition from April 5 to 12 at the Center for Art & Theatre on the Statesboro Campus.

Juried 2019 featured the variety of media taught within the Betty Foy Sanders Department of Art, which includes drawing, painting, jewelry, multimedia, mixed media, photography, printmaking, sculpture and ceramics. The exhibition was juried by Susan Laney, is the owner and director of the Laney Contemporary Gallery in Savannah, Georgia. Laney has been active in the art scene for well over a decade and has worked with some of the region's most important contemporary artists, as well as with galleries and artists nationwide. In addition to her gallery, she frequently curates exhibitions for a number of museums and art fairs.



Award: Best in Show

Winners were announced at the closing reception on April 5. Nina Samuels was awarded Best in Show. Taylor Goody was awarded Juror's Choice. Aminatta Mbow was awarded Exceptional 2D, and Andrew Shirah was awarded Exceptional 3D.

Other students with work accepted into the Juried 2019 exhibition were Marjorie Adams Alise, AJ Aremu, Meridith Bearden Lauren, Ashton Beeghley, Peyton Butts, Emily Coats, Andrew Cobb, Sierra Cornell, Jasmine Davis, Hannah Eldridge, Allison Exley, Nicholas Farmer, Rachel Forehand, AnnaBrooke H. Greene, Shelby Head, John R. Lewis, Tanner Maxey, Tyre McDonald, Tommy McMillan, Alex McReynolds, Abigail Newman, Megan Nussbaum, Katrine Ramhoj, Virginia Russell, Alyssa Santana, Macey Skelton, Kevin Spillane, Megan Tanner, Raven Waters, and Gherri Weekes-Garnette.

Posted in Gallery Programming, Noteworthy, Student Success