Georgia Southern University

Georgia Southern Commons

College of Education News (2011-2023)

College of Education Publications

8-20-2015

College of Education News

College of Education, Georgia Southern University

Follow this and additional works at: https://digitalcommons.georgiasouthern.edu/coe-news

Recommended Citation

College of Education, Georgia Southern University, "College of Education News" (2015). *College of Education News (2011-2023)*. 148.

https://digitalcommons.georgiasouthern.edu/coe-news/148

This article is brought to you for free and open access by the College of Education Publications at Georgia Southern Commons. It has been accepted for inclusion in College of Education News (2011-2023) by an authorized administrator of Georgia Southern Commons. For more information, please contact digitalcommons@georgiasouthern.edu.

COE Names Annual Faculty & Staff Award Winners

August 20, 2015

The 2015 Jack Miller faculty and Betty-Ware Wray staff awards were announced at the College of Education's annual Fall Faculty and Staff Meeting on August 13, kicking off the 2015-16 academic year.

The Jack Miller Faculty Awards are given annually to recognize and reward faculty for demonstrated excellence in the areas of teaching, service and scholarship/creative activity. The awards are determined by a faculty member's performance based on specific criteria. This year, awards were made in all areas as well as the Jack Miller Educator of the Year Award.

Jack Miller was a former dean of education at Georgia Southern and in 1994 endowed the award. He is now President of Central Connecticut State University.

Betty-Ware Wray was a beloved member of the COE faculty. Her family endowed an award to annually recognize a COE staff member who has excelled in job performance and university service.

Associate Professor Dawn Tysinger, Department of Leadership, Technology and Human Development won the Jack Miller Educator of the Year Award. Tysinger is a faculty member in the school psychology program.

Associate Professor Meca Williams-Johnson, Department of Curriculum Foundations & Reading, won the Jack Miller Award for Teaching. Williams-Johnson teaching and research interests include school reform, student motivation, teacher efficacy, African-American education, multicultural curriculum and black feminist theory.

Assistant Professor Alma Stevenson, Department of curriculum, Foundations and Reading, received the Jack Miller Award for Scholarship and Creative Activity. Stevenson's research interests include diverse learners, sociocultural and linguistic perspectives on science education, K-6 language and literacy development, classroom discourse analysis, critical discourse analysis (CDA) and ESL/Bilingual education.

Associate Professor Jeffrey Tysinger, Department of Leadership, Technology and Human Development, received the Jack Miller Award for Service. Tysinger is a faculty member in the school psychology program.

Director of the Graduate Academic Services Center (GASC) Lydia Cross, won the 2015 Betty-Ware Wray staff award. GASC is a freestanding advising and recruitment center for COE graduate students.



L-R: Lydia Cross, Dawn Tysinger, Meca Williams-Johnson, Alma Stevenson and Jeffrey Tysinger